lynsey is writing…uh, no she’s not

Hello! Anyone still there? I’m here.mkxzky77swoew

via GIPHY

No really. I am. I promise!

I know that taking the first step in starting anything is tough. You’re starting from nothing, or even if you’ve been doing something, if it’s now starting a new something, it’s still hard.

Then add in real life. Ya know, the day job. And it’s not just my day job, but it’s my new day job. One that isn’t a guaranteed 9-5, Monday through Friday gig. It’s a pretty great job, don’t get me wrong. But it very easily is another excuse for why I haven’t actually started writing like I want to.

So here’s what I’ve done so far in the months since I had settled on switching gears with my writing:

  1. Thought about writing.
  2. Thought about opening up my laptop and maybe writing.
  3. Talked about wanting to write.
  4. Scribbled a few ideas down on a few random bits of paper.
  5. Literally wrote in a journal now and again when the mood struck.
  6. Thought about writing again.

Wow, this is tough stuff, y’all. How do I get out of this funk? I keep waiting for inspiration to strike me, but I kind of think I need to go searching for it a little more deliberately. And even more than that, what do I do to have more time in the day and more energy to write in the spare time that I have? If I can somehow add more hours to the day or make myself become more of a night owl, that would help.

 

Leave a Reply

