(Re)starting this writing journey

It’s been almost 3 months a little while since my last post, and a lot has been happening: Business trips, new apartment, and now a new job starting on Monday. It’s been really hard to find the time to sit and write. So in the long weekend limbo between the old job and new, I’m getting back on the horse with writing and also putting in writing that I’m going to keep writing–busy or not. Because the thing is, being busy can’t be an excuse. Many writers aren’t lucky enough to be full time writers–or at least weren’t when they were first getting started.

When did “I want to write a novel some day” finally turn into taking the first, albeit slow, steps towards that?

Well, for one, I’m not getting any younger. And for a moment, I thought maybe I missed my chance. But then I realized that age has nothing to do with it. Diana Gabaldon (author of the Outlander series and one of my favorites) decided at 35 that she better take a stab at writing a novel, even with 2 jobs, a husband, and being a mother of several little ones. Quite frankly, the first time I heard that story, I was inspired.

Beyond that, my love of reading books and at times fascination with how authors even came up with such stories, planted a small seed of wishful thinking years ago. I kept putting it off for various reasons—tried to find jobs that would put me more in touch with books and writing or figured I’d get around to it when I was married to that wealthy man who could help pay the bills while I fiddled with this aspiration of mine (ha).

And then I finally realized that was stupid.

If I wanted to write, I needed to start, or else I would just continue to talk about wanting to write and never actually do it. And this is where the blog comes in. Step One for me was just to write anything and figure things out along the way. Step Two is now starting and chronicling my journey in writing. Writing about writing sounds a bit meta, but for me, it’s getting me somewhere. And I’m hopeful that maybe others out there can relate.

3 thoughts on “(Re)starting this writing journey

Leave a Reply

